Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde

  Published in 2009 and classified under the genres of fantasy fiction / science fiction, Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde is a far cry from other books with similar titles. Fforde is best known for his ongoing Thursday Next series and fans will find his standard flair in this dystopian tale. The story takes... Continue Reading →

The Hunger Games Trilogy

I read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins in one day.  I enjoyed reading it so much that I had to go out and read the other two books in the trilogy, Catching Fire and Mockingjay.  While neither lived up to the original book, they were also good, quick reads. The Hunger Games trilogy tells... Continue Reading →

Peter Straub and the Goods

In need of a really good suspenseful piece of fiction, well then  I have the books for you.  Peter Straub stories are indeed suspenseful mysteries, but I should add that a majority are also downright terrifying.  The first Straub book I had read was Koko which was amazing.  What I didn’t know at the time... Continue Reading →

The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo

Before Stieg Larsson’s death in 2004, he had written three mystery novels that are now known as the Millennium series.  Larsson’s first novel “Girl with the Dragon Tattoo” was originally published in Swedish and has only recently been translated and published in English.  After being published in English, Larsson’s first novel has quickly become a... Continue Reading →

Lords of Two Lands

Let me introduce you to one of my favorite series and themes. Lords of the Two Lands trilogy (1998 -2000) by Pauline Gedge The Hippopotamus Marsh: Lords of the Two Lands, Volume One The Oasis: Lords of the Two Lands, Volume Two The Horus Road: Lords of the Two Lands, Volume Three A chronicle of... Continue Reading →

Website Built with

Up ↑