Agatha Christie Readalikes

Inspired by the recent Kenneth Branaugh adaption of Agatha Christie’s Death on the Nile, we’ve decided on another mystery episode! Laura’s read all the Agatha’s; Nicole has read none. Listen to some rambling from Laura about her favs, then get some reading suggestions of other reads that recall Agatha’s plot-dense style.

For more mystery recs, check out our Closed Circle Mysteries episode that was largely inspired by the plot set up of And Then There Were None.

Listen to the episode on your favourite podcast platform by searching for Read This Next or watch on our YouTube channel. Place your TPBL holds for print books through our online catalogue, or search for eBooks through cloudLibrary. For full details about these titles and all the books we’ve mentioned on the show, go to https://www.goodreads.com/tbpl_readthisnext

Some of Laura’s Favourites

Plot-Heavy Mysteries

Movies & TV Series

Available from Kanopy:

And Then There Were None (1942)

Dial M for Murder (1954) directed by Alfred Hitchcock and starring Grace Kelly

Agatha Christie’s Endless Night (1972)

Available in the TBPL collection:

And Then There Were None (2015) miniseries

Murder on the Orient Express (2017)

Agatha Christie’s Seven Dials Mystery (1981)

The Witness for the Prosecution (2016) miniseries

Search for Poirot or Marple in our online catalogue to find many different episodes of their respective tv series

Links from our convo:

Here’s the link to the description of In the Shadow of Agatha Christie that we found so odd. Something that makes it even funnier: the opening lines of Kirkus’ review of the book, which states that “Veteran anthologist Klinger’s fondness for shadows (In the Shadow of Edgar Allan Poe, 2015, etc.) leads him to a bit of overreaching: none of the 17 authors showcased here toiled in Christie’s shadow, because their stories all appeared between 1850 and 1917, before Christie had published a word.” So basically, he has even less reason to be so salty. How absolutely peculiar!

Book descriptions and covers via NoveList & GoodReads. Find us on GoodReads at https://www.goodreads.com/tbpl_readthisnext and find Laura at https://www.goodreads.com/lauralisbeth. Have a comment or theme request? Email us at readthisnext@tbpl.ca

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: