Read This Next – Canadian Content

Notes for the 10 July 2020 edition of Read This Next. Watch this and past episodes on the TBPL Facebook page or YouTube channel.

Highlights from cloudLibrary:

Skim book coverSKIM by Mariko Tamaki & Jillian Tamaki

“Skim” is Kimberly Keiko Cameron, a not-slim, would-be Wiccan goth who goes to a private girls’ school. When Skim’s classmate Katie Matthews is dumped by her boyfriend, who then kills himself, the entire school goes into mourning overdrive. As concerned guidance counselors provide lectures on the “cycle of grief,” and the popular clique starts a new club (Girls Celebrate Life!) to bolster school spirit, Skim sinks into an ever-deepening depression. LGBTQ graphic novel.

Sleeping Giants coverSLEEPING GIANTS by Sylvain Neuvel

A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square-shaped hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand. Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved – the object’s origins, architects, and purpose unknown. But some can never stop searching for answers. Series.

Honorable mentions:

Wondrous Strange – Lesley Livingston 

Crown of Feathers – Nicki Pau Preto

Love from A to Z – SK Ali


TBPL Staff Recommend

THE DARKEST POWERS TRILOGY by Kelley Armstrong

(First book in series) When Chloe Saunders sees a terrifying and grotesque ghost she has a breakdown and is sent to Lyle House, a group home. But soon bizarre situations start occurring at the house, not only to her, but also to the other residents.

The Subtweet book coverTHE SUBTWEET by Vivek Shraya

Everyone talks about falling in love, but falling in friendship can be just as captivating. When Neela Devaki’s song is covered by internet-famous artist Rukmini, the two musicians meet and a transformative friendship begins. But as Rukmini’s star rises and Neela’s stagnates, jealousy and self-doubt creep in. With a single tweet, their friendship implodes, one career is destroyed, and the two women find themselves at the center of an internet firestorm.

Celebrated multidisciplinary artist Vivek Shraya’s second novel is a stirring examination of making art in the modern era, a love letter to brown women, an authentic glimpse into the music industry, and a nuanced exploration of the promise and peril of being seen.

Readalikes: Swing Time by Zadie Smith

Other links:

I Think I Am in Friend-Love With You by Yumi Sakugawa


NEW CLOUDLIBRARY SHELF ALERT!

Hot off the press! Check out the CanCon shelf on cloudLibrary for Canadian books published in 2020.


Book descriptions via GoodReads.com & NoveList

Find Laura on GoodReads at https://www.goodreads.com/lauralisbeth

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s