And the Winner Is…

Award-winners in 2018

  1. Alex Awards: The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults, ages 12 through 18.

All Systems Red, by Martha Wells
The Clockwork Dynasty, by Daniel H. Wilson
Down among the Sticks & Bones, by Seanan McGuire
Electric Arches, by Eve L. Ewing
A Hope more Powerful than the Sea, by Melissa Fleming
Malagash, by Joey Comeau
Roughneck, by Jeff Lemire
She Rides Shotgun, by Jordan Harper
Things We have in Common, by Tasha Kavanagh
An Unkindness of Magicians, by Kat Howard





2. The Arthur Ellis Awards for Excellence in Canadian Crime Writing:
established in 1984 and named after the nom de travail of Canada’s official hangman, are awarded annually by the CWC.

Best Crime Novel: Sleeping in the Ground, by Peter Robinson


3. The Man Booker Prize, launched in 1969, aims to promote the
finest in fiction by rewarding the best novel of the year written in
English and published in the United Kingdom.

Milkman, by Anna Burns


4. The Man Booker International Prize, established in 2005, is awarded annually on the basis of a single book originally written in any language as long as it is widely available in English.

Flights, by Olga Tokarczuk


5. During Canada Reads, five personalities champion five different books, each champion extolling the merits of one of the titles.

Forgiveness, by Mark Sakamoto

The other contenders in 2018 were: The Boat People, by Sharon Bala; American War, by Omar El Akkad; Precious Cargo, by Craig Davidson; The Marrow Thieves, by Cherie Dimaline


6. The Christie Awards: Every year publishers are invited to submit novels written from a Christian worldview and copyrighted in the year preceding the awards.

Book of the Year: True to You, by Becky Wade

Contemporary Romance: True to You, by Becky Wade

Mystery/Suspense/Thriller: The House on Foster Hill,
by Jaime Jo Wright

First Novel: Missing Isaac, by Valerie Fraser Luesse

Historical: Isaiah’s Daughter, by Mesu Andrews

Historical Romance: The Lacemaker, Laura Frantz

Visionary: The Man He Never Was, by James Rubart

Young Adult: The Delusion, by Laura Gallier


7. The Edgar Awards: Each spring, Mystery Writers of America
present the Edgar® Awards, widely acknowledged to be the most prestigious awards in the genre.

Bluebird, Bluebird, by Attica Locke






8. The Scotiabank Giller Prize, or Giller Prize, is a literary award given to a Canadian author of a novel or short story collection published in English the previous year.

Washington Black, by Esi Edugyan



9. Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction: Each year, the Canada Council for the Arts honours the best in Canadian literature with its Governor General’s Literary Awards (the GGs). As Canada’s national literary awards, the GGs represent the rich diversity of Canadian

The Red World, by Sarah Henstra


10. The Hugo Awards, presented annually since 1955, are science fiction’s most prestigious award. The Hugo Awards are voted on by members of the World Science Fiction Convention, which is also responsible for administering them.

The Stone Sky, by N.K. Jemisin


11. Prix Aurora Awards: The Canadian Science Fiction and Fantasy Association (CSFFA)’s mandate is to present,  publicize and honour the three Awards for the genres of Science Fiction and Fantasy in all their variations and in all the ways they are celebrated. The Aurora Awards are Canada’s national Science Fiction and Fantasy Awards.

Jade City, by Fonda Lee


12. The Pulitzer Prize in fiction: For distinguished fiction published in book form during the year by an American author, preferably dealing with American life

Less, by Andrew Sean Greer


13. RITA Awards: The purpose of the RITA award is to promote excellence in the romance genre by recognizing outstanding published romance novels and novellas.
The award itself is a golden statuette named after RWA’s first president, Rita Clay Estrada, and has become the symbol for excellence in published romance fiction.

Best First Book: Take the Lead: a Dance Off Novel, by Alexis Daria
Contemporary Romance, Long: Falling Hard, by Lexi Ryan
Contemporary Romance, Mid-length: Tell Me, by Abigail Storm
Contemporary Romance, Short: Second Chance Summer, by Kait Nolan
Erotic Romance: Wicked Dirty, by Julie Kenner
Historical Romance, Long: Between the Devil and the Duke, by Kelly
Historical Romance, Short: Waltzing with the Earl, by Catherine Tinley
Religious/Spiritual Elements: Then there was You, by Kara Isaac
Paranormal Romance: Hunt the Darkness, by Stephanie Rowe
Romance Novella: Forbidden River, by Brynn Kelly
Romantic Suspense: The Fixer: Games People Play, by HelenKay Dimon
Young Adult Romance: Seize Today, by Pintip Dunn


14. Spur Awards: Western Writers of America, Inc., was founded in 1953 to promote the literature of the American West and
bestow Spur Awards for distinguished writing in the Western field. The founders were largely authors who wrote traditional Western fiction, but the organization swiftly expanded to
include historians and other nonfiction authors, young adult and romance writers, and writers interested in regional history.

The “Western,” as a term is, in and of itself, misleading to some. The Western is adventure, mystery, romance and more. It is
yesterday, today and tomorrow. In a phrase, it is the literature of America’s soul. In fact, the Western is America’s only unique brand of literature, now enjoyed throughout the world.

Best Western Traditional Novel: Silver City: a Novel of the American West, by Jeff Guinn
Best Western Contemporary Novel: Double Wide, by Leo. W. Banks
Best Western Historical Novel: The Coming, by David Osborne


15. The Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour: The board of the Stephen Leacock Associates works to preserve the literary legacy of Stephen Leacock, oversee the Stephen Leacock Memorial Medal for Humour award and encourage the growth of Canadian humour writing.
The prestigious Memorial Medal, accompanied by a $15,000 prize supported by TD Financial Group, is awarded annually for the best in Canadian literary humour. The award has attained an international reputation and is the only one of its kind for Canadian humour writing.

Gone to Pot, by Jennifer Craig


16. The Trillium Award was one of several creative initiatives undertaken by the Libraries and Community Information Branch while under the direction of Wil Vanderelst during the 1980s, that encouraged the development of Ontario writers and the
distribution of their works.

Birds Art Life, by Kyo Maclear



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Built with

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: