The Sano Ichiro Mystery Series

A medieval Samurai detective series

by Laura Joh Rowland

1.  Shinju. 1994sleeve-thm

2. Bundori. 1996

3. The Way of the Traitor. 1997

4. The Concubine’s Tattoo. 1998

5. The Samurai’s Wife. 2000

6. Black Lotus. 2001fire_kimono_thmb

7. The Pillow Book of Lady Wisteria. 2002

8. The Dragon King’s Palace. 2003

9. The Perfumed Sleeve. 2004

10. The Assassin’s Touch. 2005

11. The Red Chrysanthemum. 2006

12. The Snow Empress. 2007redchrys-thm

13. The Fire Kimono. 2008

14. The Cloud Pavillion. 2009

This mystery series set in medieval Japan features Samurai detective Sano Ichiro. Together with his wife and best friend they delve into both the brutal world of the Imperial court, gangs and villages where evil have many guises. Although it is exotic in setting, the emotions and motivations are all too recognizable, whether it is the jealousy of the rivals for the Emperor’s attention, the machinations of the thwarted concubine or the meglomania of the the cult leader and his single-minded followers. Addictive.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Built with

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: