Poldark, A Great Saga

Imagine standing on the Cornish coast, the wind whipping through your hair, the salt spray of the sea filling your lungs, the world around you, full of mystery, danger, love and deceit. Welcome to Poldark country. Winston Graham began his series of novels in 1945 about the life of Ross Poldark, recently returned to England, an injured solider, only to find most of his family dead, his inheritance in ruins and his true love about to be married to someone else. The series comprises twelve novels ,with the final novel being released in 2002. This is the rags to riches saga of the Poldarks, their friends and their enemies from the years 1783 to 1815; it’s full of historical details, well developed characters and a wonderful sense of setting; the coast of Cornwall comes alive here. I found the novels as a teenager when Masterpiece Theatre was showing the BBC production of the books back in the late 1970’s, and from the first episode I was hooked. While the televison series was wonderful and is still considered one of the best Masterpiece Theatre ever offered (sadly it’s not available on this side of the Atlantic in DVD or video), it was the novels themselves that remained in my heart.
Lori K.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: